Early Beginnings


I had been thinking about what I would properly start my blog with, and as I mentioned in my last post, I planned to start in the past. The question was how far. I could go back to when I first began to contemplate a career, even if half-heartedly, or maybe further. Would the latter be taking a risk however potentially exposing a lower quality of work and potentially have potential readers question my current endeavours?

Then I had another thought, that in going back over my early photographic exploits that not only would I give myself something to blog about, I would also be able to see how far I have come and maybe how much further I could go. With that in mind, the idea of going as far back as I possibly could became more attractive, except for one key thing; go back far enough and you enter the realm of Printed Photos without an electronic version. Which would therefore mean that I would need to wade through piles of photos looking for those key sample shots that I can then scan so that they be uploaded to the net.

Well, I went that far and found photos that have not seen the light of day in years. Some faded due to bad photo albums, others just simply stuffed in a packet (remember those old photo envelopes?) and kept in a box. Even a collection of original negatives!

The next question I had was where to start, and this became a little easier when I starting reviewing my life in photos. Nearly 20 years ago (to the day) I took off to a country that most westerners probably would never see, or if they do, it would only be the once: Russia. I went there as part a Corporate Exchange programme with around 70 other Aussies and New Zealanders. I spent 7 weeks in Saint Petersburg and two in Moscow.

I took some photos during my trip but I was very self-conscious and put-off by the belief that I may be taking a picture of something forbidden. In my mind, there was a heavily armed policeman just around the corner waiting for me to take the illegal snap! I look at the two photos I have uploaded above as a sample of what I took, and I know I would have done it differently today. I feel like I could have included more of the icepack in the second image and that the framing was a little to much to the left in the first. Then again, today I would be able to work a few additional wonders in Photoshop.


Tools like this simply didn’t exist for a simple student with a basic analogue, 35mm film camera. Mind you, I wasn’t too concerned about quality photos at the time anyway.

In my next blog, I intend to look into some of the more, shall I say “ARTY” attempts of my youth, erm, younger years, and will also demonstrate some basic photo recovery skills with photos that predate these two above.

One thought on “Early Beginnings

  1. Pingback: Architecture – The other easy target | Jeff Watkins Photography

Leave a Reply

